Introducing: Elizabeth Giancola!

May 12, 2009 at 7:45 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Nettles, trillium and poison ivy are in full bloom here in Falls Village, CT.  I arrived two weeks ago and I am really starting to feel at home here.  As the farm manager’s assistant I spend my days working in the sadeh and on Beebe Hill.  Today we planted100_3627 strawberries and covered the grass in the orchard with cardboard.  Then we covered it with manure, that is supposedly aged two years, but smells a little fresher than that.  Finally we covered that with a layer of woodchips and then we hope that the grass beneath it won’t figure out a way to grow through it.  Covering Beebe Hill with cardboard boxes is one of my favorite jobs here at Adamah.  It’s really interesting to see all the different boxes of various food, tea and paper goods products that we use here at Isabella Freedman.  It’s also really fun to tear apart boxes and stomp on them and turn them into a  big puzzle across the hillside.
Before arriving here I was working as a school garden teacher and as a kraut maker and packer for a sauerkraut business in Berkeley, CA.  Before that I was working with children, goats and plants on an educational farm called Slide Ranch where I got my first taste of raw goat milk.  I’m really looking forward to my time here at Adamah.  It seems that this farm is a great combination of many things that I love.  I feel like I have been welcomed into a family I didn’t know I had.
I look forward to sending out updates as I make my way through the growing season and learn more about what it means to be a full time farmer.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

