Introducing: Lauren Weinberg!

July 7, 2009 at 9:18 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

“You’re gonna be a WHAT apprentice?” Before officially starting my
position as the Adamah Pickling Apprentice, I found myself explaining
and re-explaining to friends and family what exactly this
apprenticeship entailed. With each thoughtful explanation, I grew morelauren
and more excited for my transition back into the Adamah and Isabella
Freedman community.

After participating in the Fall 2007 season of Adamah, my affinity for
lacto-fermented products proliferated (Yes, I had to go there). But
here’s my confession: Aside from a jar or two of homemade saurkraut, I
haven’t been doing much of my own pickling or canning.  I really can’t
rationalize my lack of preservation projects. I certainly had all the
resources available in Bloomington, Indiana (where I was living prior
to my recent move to Falls Village); A local Farmer’s Market, a copy
of Sandor Katz’s “Wild Fermentation”, an extensive glass jar
collection, an e-mail listserv of Adamah staff and alumni who would
willingly answer my questions…No excuse at all!

So here I am, and I’m stoked to keep you posted on my adventures in
lacto-fermenting and jamming. I’m grateful to join Miriam “The
Picklady”, Shamu, Megan, Aitan, Anna, Biz, and a most-stellar crew of
Adamahnicks for what will be an incredible season!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Lauren…bring them pickles on!!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

