Meet the Adamahniks: Clare

September 24, 2009 at 5:24 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

There is so magnificence in the oceanclare

Waves are coming in

Waves are coming in

Hello, my name is Clare Hyre and I bring greetings from fall ADAMAH 2009! I choose to start this passage with the above quote both because this is a beautiful song we have been chanting at our morning Avodat Lev services but also because it reminds me of my most recent home in Northern California and the beautiful beaches that exist nearby. But as I packed my bags and said goodbye to the Santa Cruz Mountains I knew I was headed to a new type of beauty, the beauty that comes with the New England fall, with meeting new people, and with learning and growing through farm work and Jewish study.  As I unpacked my belongings and moved into my cozy tent I thought: what a better time of year to engage in a new community and landscape then September? The exquisite oranges and reds of the leaves seemed to celebrate the coming of the New Year and the coming of cold weather. They also compliment the beauty of my first ADAMAH CSA harvest, batch of homemade sauerkraut, and joy of milking the goats every evening. These acts themselves are not new to me; I’ve worked on several farms before joining ADAMAH yet until this fall I had never had the chance to connect the ideas of sustainability & stewardship to Judaism. I can’t say that everything here has been easy, it is not easy to rise at 5:30am and work/study till 9pm. Likewise, as a community we have lots of growing to do and lots to learn from each other about patience and diversity. As the fall begins and we receive the bounty of last harvests from the sadeh  there is also a chance to receive the bounty of new friendships, new experiences, new ideas. Two weeks and ADAMAH has already expanded my horizons exponentially. I can only wonder who I will be at the end of three months!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Rock on!

  2. Yasher Koach Clare! I hope the season will be fruitful, the fruit sweet, and the acquisition of Torah transformative!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

